CREATIVE CORNER OF STUDENTS

Books I like to Read

I do believe something magical can happen when you read a good book. – J. K. Rowling

Reading is a very good habit. It helps us improve our vocabulary, we get to learn lots of interesting facts and gain a lot of knowledge. Reading introduces us to famous folk tales of the land as well as opens up a world of classics for us.

I think my love for reading started at a very young age. My parents started reading to me when I was around six months old. They would get me big colorful picture books, show me the pictures and read out the stories for me to hear. When I started speaking, I could look at the pictures and tell what was happening in the book. As I grew older, I started reading books myself. I kept all the books in a cupboard in my room, so that I could read them anytime I felt like.

Today, my book collection stands at around 300 books. Reading books is my favorite pastime and I need nothing else in the world to be happy, if I have my books with me.

I like to read all kinds of books – from fiction, to classics, to encyclopedias.

I have a huge collection of Enid Blyton like The Famous Five, The Secret Seven, The Adventure Series, The Mystery Series etc. They are such lovely books with stories full of adventures that children like me fall into & the mysteries that they solve. These books transport me to the English countryside & I feel like I am solving the mysteries with those children, when I read them.

Ruskin Bond is another author that I love to read. He writes simple stories in such a beautiful way and many of these are inspired from his own childhood that he spent in Dehradun & Mussourie. I feel a special connection with his stories as my grandparents also live in Dehradun & Mussourie. I visit them often and have seen many places where these stories are set. I have also met Mr. Bond a couple of times.

I like reading all kinds of encyclopedias, every now & then, especially the ones about space, the earth and those covering topics of science.

The Geronimo Stilton Books also cover a big shelf in my reading cupboard. These are fun, colourful books, with a mouse as the hero. He goes on various adventures around the world and because of that, we get to know about those places and their history in a super fun way.

I also love reading stories from the Jatakas & Panchatantra. These contain the folk tales from around India and are full of morals. These have been re-written by Amar Chitra Katha in comic form and are great fun to read.

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling is the latest addition to my collection. There are seven books in all. I have read every one of them. They are about an orphan boy with magical powers, who goes to a magic school & defeats dark powers. Movies have been made on these books and though I have seen all of them, I prefer the books as they are more detailed, and I get transported to the wizard world when I read them. I am collecting the illustrated books in this series and have all the four that have released till date. These are beautiful and will surely be considered classics one day.

But my most favorite book of all is a book that my uncle bought for me from USA. It is written by the great scientist Stephen Hawking. It is about a boy called George who explores new planets, stars and black holes. It also has a lot of information about the solar system. It is called George’s Secret Key to the Universe.

I have been greatly inspired by these books and have written a mystery story of my own, that features all my friends. I am now writing my second story. I will one day like to publish a book of all my stories, for other children to read.

Aarav Iyer

VIII-D

KVDRDO

NIKAS MADHAVAN CLASS 6 D
NANDITA VINOD-6 D

Leave a comment

Up ↑

TRAININGS AT ZIET MYSORE

SERVICE WITH SMILE

ZIET MYSORE LIBRARY

Service with smile

TRAININGS AT ZIET MYSORE

SERVICE WITH SMILE

ZIET MYSORE LIBRARY

Service with smile